What: 50th Anniversary National Short Track Championships

Where: Rockford Speedway (1601 West Lane Road Loves Park, IL 61111)

When: Saturday night October 3

Schedule and Information:
8:30 AM- Pit Gates Open
10:30 AM- Rotating Practice
2:15 PM- Qualifying
5:05 PM- Racing begins

Divisions Competing:
Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet
PLUS: Super Late Models, Mid American Stock Car Series, Illini Racing Series, Vintage Racers of Illinois

Admission Prices:
Reserved Seating (Sections D, E & F)- $20 Adults (Ages 12 & over), $10 (ages 11 and under)
General Admission- $18 (Ages 12 and up), $8 (Ages 6-11), $3 (ages 5 and under)

Current Big 8 Late Model Series Point Standings (Top 14 thru six races)
1. 2 Michael Bilderback (1) 608
2. 14 Austin Nason (2) 588
3. 28 Bobby Wilberg (1) 576
4. 18 Michael Ostdiek 506
5. X Jon Reynolds Jr (1) 497
6. 97 Cole Anderson ® 431
7. 95 Wayne Freimund 418
8. 5 Dave Edwards 375
9. 36 Lyle Nowak 315
10. 62 Adam Peschek 298
11. 17 Eric Connell 294
12. 45 Michael Bachaus 284
13. 15 Michael Clapper 283
14. 82 J Herbst 268

PREVIEWING THE 50th ANNIVERSARY NATIONAL SHORT TRACK CHAMPIONSHIPS: In what has become one of the most anticipated races of every Big 8 season, the 108 lap test of man and machine returns to Rockford Speedway this Saturday night as part of ‘One Great Racing Weekend’ and the 50th Anniversary National Short Track Championships. This year’s grand climax to ‘Short Track Saturday Night’ features 32 drivers on the Pre-Entry List and a very close battle for the 2015 Big 8 championship. Last Saturday night at Elko (MN) Speedway, Austin Nason became the first Big 8 driver to win multiple times on the 2015 schedule while holding off Elko champion Chris Marek to seal the deal. With the solid night at Elko, Nason climbed to second in points and to within 20 markers of point leader Michael Bilderback. Despite early adversity, Bilderback raced back to sixth place in the final running order, pushing past Bobby Wilberg at the checkered flag. A sub-par evening in Minnesota dropped Wilberg, the winner at Rockford in April, back to third in series points. With just 32 total points separating the top three, Rockford sets up to be wild, unpredictable and very important in the title chase. Joining the Big 8 point leaders are Rockford aces Jon Reynolds Jr, Jake Gille, Alex Papini, Tom Gille and Josh Nelms along with Four-time Big 8 Series champion Jeremy Miller and defending race winner Casey Johnson, who collected the victory September in a three-wide fashion following a green-white-checkered finish.

Sat Oct 3- 50th Anniversary National Short Track Championships (Rockford Speedway, Loves Park IL)
Sat Oct 10- 46th Oktoberfest Race Weekend (La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway, West Salem WI)